Odisha's first BJP Chief Minister 'Mohan Charan Majhi' takes oath, PM attend event

BJP's Mohan Charan Majhi was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Odisha this evening at a ceremony where Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP brass were present.
Odisha's first BJP Chief Minister 'Mohan Charan Majhi' takes oath, PM attend event
Source: ANI

After Andhra Pradesh, Odisha witnessed the swearing-in of new BJP Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi on Wednesday evening. A beeline of top BJP leaders were in attendance for the mega oath-taking ceremony, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi leading the flock.

Mohan Majhi, a four-time MLA, was selected the leader of the BJP Legislature Party on Tuesday. The 52-year-old leader is a prominent tribal face in the coastal state. Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida will be his deputies.

The outgoing Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was also present at the swearing-in ceremony and was welcomed by senior BJP leaders, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Also Read
40 Indians killed in fire at Kuwait building housing workers, 30 injured
Odisha's first BJP Chief Minister 'Mohan Charan Majhi' takes oath, PM attend event

Earlier in the day, Mohan Charan Majhi met Odisha Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneswar and invited him to the swearing-in ceremony. Speaking to reporters, Majhi said that Patnaik assured him he would attend the ceremony.

Before calling on Patnaik, the Chief Minister-designate paid floral tributes at the statues of the state's icons. Majhi was accompanied by deputy Chief Minister designates KV Singh Deo and Prabhati Parida.

After attending Chandrababu Naidu's swearing-in, PM Modi is expected to take off for Bhubaneswar at 12.45 pm. He is expected to arrive in Bhubaneswar at 2.30 pm and proceed to Raj Bhavan from the airport, party sources said.

Several dignitaries, including Union Ministers and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states, are expected to attend the oath-taking ceremony of the new Odisha Chief Minister.

Naveen Patnaik's 24-year reign as the Chief Minister came to end after the BJP dealt a crushing blow to his BJD party in the state election, winning 78 seats in the 147-member Assembly. The BJD could only manage 51 seats.

Besides PM Modi, a number of Union Ministers and chief ministers of several states ruled by the BJP are likely to attend the event.

Apart from the VVIPs, about 30,000 people are expected to attend the ceremony to be held at Janata Maidan.

The Odisha government also announced that its offices in Bhubaneswar will remain closed from 1 pm in view of the oath-taking ceremony.

Source: India Today

Stay connected to Jaano Junction on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Koo. Listen to our Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

Jaano Junction