Mohan Charan Majhi to be new Odisha Chief Minister

The BJP on Tuesday announced Mohan Charan Majhi as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh announced his name after the conclusion of the legislature party meeting that was called in Bhubaneshwar.
Mohan Charan Majhi to be new Odisha Chief Minister
Jaano Junction

The BJP’s Mohan Charan Majhi will be the next Chief Minister of Odisha, senior party leader and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh announced on Tuesday. The 52-year-old leader, a four-time MLA, is a prominent tribal face in the coastal state. He will have two deputies - Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida, Singh added in his announcement.

In a post on the microblogging site X, Rajnath Singh said, "Delighted to announce that Shri Mohan Charan Manjhi has been elected unanimously as the leader of Odisha BJP Legislature Party. He is a young and dynamic party karyakarta who will take the state forward on road to progress and prosperity as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Many congratulations to him."

"Also, it has been decided that two Deputy Chief Ministers will be designated to head the new State Government. Shri KV Singh Deo and Smt. Pravati Parida will serve the state as Deputy Chief Minister. Congratulations to them!" Singh added in his post.

Also Read
Scam: US Woman Buys Fake Jewellery Worth ₹ 300 For ₹ 6 Crore In Jaipur
Mohan Charan Majhi to be new Odisha Chief Minister

Earlier in the day, the BJP legislature party meeting to select the chief minister of Odisha began, which was attended by Rajnath Singh and his cabinet colleague Bhupender Yadav.

Mohan Charan Manjhi, a tribal leader, won the election from the Keonjhar Assembly seat with a margin of over 87,000 votes. He defeated Biju Janata Dal's Mina Majhi and Congress candidate Prativa Manjari Naik.

The oath-taking ceremony of Majhi and other leaders is likely to be held on June 12 at 5 pm.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to arrive in Bhubaneswar at 2.30 pm on Wednesday and proceed to Raj Bhavan from the airport, the party sources said.

Several dignitaries, including union ministers and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states, are expected to attend the oath-taking ceremony of the new Odisha CM and other ministers.

Source: India Today

Stay connected to Jaano Junction on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Koo. Listen to our Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

Jaano Junction