Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli, no Gandhi in Amethi contest

Congress has picked Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli and Kishori Lal Sharma from Amethi after the party released its candidates' list from the constituencies on Friday.
Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli, no Gandhi in Amethi contest
Jaano Junction

Congress has fielded Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli and Kishori Lal Sharma from Amethi as the party released its candidates' list on Friday. The announcement came after much suspense over the two constituencies in Uttar Pradesh.

Both Amethi and Raebareli have been Congress bastions. Rahul Gandhi lost the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Amethi to BJP leader and Union Minister Smriti Irani.

Both Rahul Gandhi and KL Sharma will file their nominations today, the last day for the same. Elections in Amethi and Raebareli will be held on May 20 in the fifth round of the seven-phase process.

Taking to X, Congress said that the decision to field Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli and KL Sharma from Amethi was made at a meeting of the 'Central Election Committee'.

Also Read
White House's damage control after Biden's 'xenophobic' remark on India, Japan
Rahul Gandhi from Raebareli, no Gandhi in Amethi contest

Congress loyalist KL Sharma will face Smriti Irani in Amethi in the elections. Meanwhile, Rahul Gandhi's opponent would be Dinesh Pratap Singh, who was announced as the BJP's pick from Raebareli on Thursday. Dinesh Singh lost the 2019 Lok Sabha polls to former Congress chief Sonia Gandhi.

Talking to reporters on KL Sharma's candidature from Amethi, Congress worker Yogendra Yadav exuded confidence in his win and said Sharma is a part of the Gandhi family.

"There is no disappointment. We will definitely win from here (Amethi). KL Sharma is also a part of the (Gandhi) family now. He has worked for the Gandhi family in Amethi for 30 to 35 years," he said.

KL Sharma was the key man who looked after the Amethi and Raebareli constituencies in the absence of the Gandhis.

Meanwhile, preparations are underway at Raebareli for Rahul Gandhi's roadshow and filing of nominations. Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge will also go to Raebareli today.

Congress veteran and Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar extended "best wishes" to Rahul Gandhi after his Raebareli selection, saying it is a seat that has "always represented justice and hope from Sonia Gandhi's tenures".

"You have raised the injustices being faced by our country through Congress Party's Bharat Jodo Yatra, seeking upholding of democratic values, which I am confident will soon resonate all across the nation & be a part of India's great new future," Shivakumar tweeted.

Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi, whose poll debut created massive suspense, campaigned for KL Sharma in Amethi today, saying he is "well aware of the issues" of the constituency. Then, she said she was in a rush to go to Raebareli for her 'bhaiya' Rahul Gandhi's nomination.

The Amethi seat has been represented by Rahul Gandhi from 2004, and he remained the MP from there for three consecutive terms till 2019. He currently represents Kerala's Wayanad constituency, where he has contested this time also.

The Raebareli constituency, meanwhile, was represented by Sonia Gandhi from 2004 to 2024 and is seen as the traditional pocket borough of the Gandhi-Nehru family. Prior to this, she had represented Amethi Lok Sabha seat after her entry to politics and contested for the first time in 1999. The seat was previously held by Sanjay Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi.

Source: India Today

Stay connected to Jaano Junction on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Koo. Listen to our Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Jaano Junction