Narendra Modi chosen as NDA 3.0 leader, Nitish Kumar’s key message at meet

The NDA alliance partners met on Wednesday in Delhi to deliberate on the future course of action after it won 292 Lok Sabha seats. According to sources, the BJP-led alliance will meet President Droupadi Murmu and stake claim to form a government.
Narendra Modi chosen as NDA 3.0 leader, Nitish Kumar’s key message at meet
Jaano Junction

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance parties will meet President Droupadi Murmu on June 7 and stake claim to form a government under Narendra Modi's leadership, sources said. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Telugu Desam Party chief Chandrababu Naidu want Narendra Modi to "act fast" on the government formation process, sources said.

"Jaldi kijiye (act fast)," Nitish Kumar told PM during the NDA meet.

"There should not be any delay in forming the government. We should do it as soon as possible," sources quoted Nitish Kumar as saying in a meeting of NDA alliance partners held in Delhi today, a day after the Lok Sabha election results were announced, in which the NDA won 292 seats.

The NDA partners have unanimously chosen Narendra Modi as their leader. "We unanimously choose Narendra Modi as our leader," a proposal signed by 21 NDA members read.

Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, and JDU leaders Lallan Singh and Sanjay Jha, were among those present at the meeting.

Also Read
BJP-led NDA parties to meet President, stake claim to form government: Sources
Narendra Modi chosen as NDA 3.0 leader, Nitish Kumar’s key message at meet

PM Modi resigned from the post this morning and his likely to take oath for the top post for the third consecutive time on June 8.

All eyes were on JDU's Nitish Kumar and TDP's Chandrababu Naidu, who could play a crucial role in government formation.

Ahead of attending the NDA partners' meeting in Delhi, Chandrababu Naidu had said, "We are in NDA. I am going for an NDA meeting. In the course of time, if there is anything we will report to you."

The TDP won 16 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh, while the JDU won 12 of the 40 seats in Bihar. The BJP fell short of a majority this time with victory on only 240 Lok Sabha seats. With the help of allies, the NDA won 292 seats.

Narendra Modi is set to form a government at the Centre for a third consecutive term.

The NDA meeting was organised in Delhi today to take stock of the Lok Sabha poll results and deliberate on the details of the formation of a new government, which is likely to be different in composition and character with a bigger share for the BJP's allies, news agency PTI earlier said.

Source: India Today

Stay connected to Jaano Junction on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Koo. Listen to our Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

Jaano Junction