Indian Railways To Run 283 Special Trains For Diwali & Chhath Puja

The Indian Railways is set to operate 283 special trains for the upcoming festivals of Diwali and Chhath Puja. This was announced by Union Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, who stated that there will be 4,480 trips made during the festival season.
Indian Railways To Run 283 Special Trains For Diwali & Chhath Puja

Indian Railways has come up with a special idea of running 283 festival special trains for Diwali and Chhath Puja. According to Union Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, there will be 4,480 trips during the festival season for the citizens. The Eastern Central Railway will operate 42 trains which will make 512 trips while the Western Railway which is 36 in number will make a maximum of 1,262 trips. The North Western Railway will operate 24 trains for 1,208 trips.

Additionally, the Railways have launched a special drive with an aim to solve the problem of traveling without tickets and they also want to facilitate the comfortable journey to genuine passengers during the upcoming festival season. The Railway Board will make sure that zones follow the ticket-checking process with the help of their staff to ascertain the genuineness of passengers by checking valid prescribed proof of identity.

List of Zones & Number Of Special Trains

  • Central Railway (CR): 14

  • Eastern Central Railway (ECR): 42

  • Eastern Coast Railway Zone (ECOR): 12

  • Eastern Railway (ER): 8

  • Northern Railway (NR): 34

  • North Eastern Railway (NER): 4

  • NFR: 22

  • North Western Railway (NWR): 24

  • Southern Railway (SR): 10

  • South Eastern Railway (SER): 8

  • South Central Railway (SCR): 58

  • South Western Railway (SWR): 11

  • Western Railway (WR): 36

Stay connected to Jaano Junction on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Koo. Listen to our Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Jaano Junction