Zinta’s team won kya? PBKS responds to Salman Khan’s viral old tweet

IPL 2024: PBKS took to 'X' to respond to a viral old tweet from Salman Khan, which dated back to 2014, enquiring if Preity Zinta's team won or not. PBKS thrashed KKR by 8 wickets in a record run-chase at Eden Garden Stadium, Kolkata.
Zinta’s team won kya? PBKS responds to Salman Khan’s viral old tweet
Jaano Junction

The PBKS would be over the moon by their performance on Friday evening, be it the team or their social media handle and, after all, why not? They successfully chased down the highest-ever score in the history of T20 cricket. The social media handle of Punjab was on song after their enthralling win over KKR at the Eden Garden Stadium, Kolkata. They responded to a viral tweet from Bollywood superstar Salman Khan, which dated back to 2014.

PBKS took to 'X' to retweet Salman's old tweet from the night of the IPL qualifier between PBKS (then KXIP) and KKR. In that tweet, Salman enquired by taking a sly dig if Preity Zinta's team won or not. Punjab had lost to Kolkata by 28 runs on May 28, 2014. However, in the eliminator round, they defeated CSK to play the summit clash. It was the first time when Punjab reached the final of the tournament after showcasing some impeccable performances. However, Punjab had lost to Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata by 3 wickets in a thrilling final.

Almost 10 years later, PBKS retweeted Salman's inquiry and wrote, "Match bhi jeete or dil bhi" on 'X'.

It was a sweet revenge by PBKS over KKR as they thrashed the home team by 8 wickets at Eden Garden Stadium on April 26, Friday. In a ruthless batting display by both the sides, a total of 523 runs were scored in 2 innings and a total of 42 sixes were hit, most in a T20 match. 

Also Read
Arvind Kejriwal healthy, asked to continue insulin dose by medical board: Source
Zinta’s team won kya? PBKS responds to Salman Khan’s viral old tweet

Jonny Bairstow roared back to form with a scintillating hundred as he scored 108 runs from 49 balls. The KKR bowlers, except Sunil Narine, were taken to the cleaners by the PBKS batters as Shashank Singh clubbed 68 runs from just 28 deliveries to help the team finish off the chase with 8 balls to spare.

Earlier, KKR openers, Sunil Narine and Phil Salt provided a thunderous start to the team with a 138-run opening stand and, despite the contributions from Shreyas Iyer and Andre Russell with the bat, the KKR bowlers failed to defend 262 runs. 

Source: India Today

Stay connected to Jaano Junction on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and Koo. Listen to our Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

Jaano Junction